Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dear Colleagues:

The proposed alternative session ‘Brainwriting’ Solutions to Task Saturation & Stress Among Museum Practitioners proposed for the Canadian Museums Association Annual Conference in Halifax, 11-15 April 2016, will not proceed due to lack of sufficient interest.

It has been suggested that I propose this again for next year’s conference.  Stay tuned.

To all those who will be attending the CMA conference, I wish you every success in learning and/or generating solutions to the challenges facing us in the field.

To those who are disappointed in the cancellation of the proposed alternative session, please refer to the other pieces that I have been posting on & off for the last few years.

Right now, I am mostly “off,” but once I can leave some high energy-consuming life challenges currently making me time poor, I plan to get back to writing.  There are lots more things to say & solutions to suggest.

In the meantime, know that you are not alone in task saturation & that there are solutions & supports.

If nothing else, read the best book for the fully loaded camels among museum workers:

Ury, William. 2007. The Power of a Positive No: How to Say No and Still Get to Yes. New York: Bantam Dell.

My local public library has a copy, so I expect that many others will as well.  This book also is reviewed here on my blog Review of William Ury, Power of a Positive No: How to Say No & Still Get to Yes .

The second best book found to date for task saturated museum practitioners is:

Posen, David. 2013. Is Work Killing You? A Doctor’s Prescription for Treating Workplace Stress. Toronto: House of Anansi Press Inc.

In closing, work/life balance is achievable for museum practitioners.  Take care of your physical, mental, family, social, & spiritual health!

Respectfully yours

Paul C. Thistle

Solving Museum Worker Task Saturation Blog https://solvetasksaturation.wordpress.com/2012/08/05/hello-world/

